2017 STAT Teacher Excellence Award Winners

Gord Heidel

Executive Director
Regina District Industry Education Council
Regina, SK

Gordon has worn many hats throughout his career. He was a Practical and Applied Arts Instructor, Department Head, Core Leader, Learning Leader, Work Experience Coordinator, Career Development and PAA Consultant, Saskatchewan Ministry of Education PAA Coordinator, President of the Saskatchewan Career & Work Exploration Association.

Andrea Calow

Woods and Drafting Instructor
Tommy Douglas Collegiate
Saskatoon, SK

Andrea pours her heart in soul into everything that she pursues. Her level of expertise and energy make her a talented educator but it is the way that she connects with students which makes her a truly great teacher. Andrea is a true professional who is actively and deeply engaged in her professional development and she encourages and demands the same of her colleagues. Andrea is a tireless advocate of student success and will not allow students to get away with any less than their very best. She exemplifies all that it means to be a great teacher and for that I believe that Andrea deserves to be recognized.

Kevin Chiasson

Practical and Applied Arts Instructor
Minahik Waskahigan School
Saskatoon, SK

“Kevin is a true professional. He excels at whatever challenge he is given. He was asked to teach Robotics, an area in which he had very little training or expertise in. Due to hard work and determination, he taught/coached his students to a 7th place Medal of Excellence finish at Worlds. Kevin is a humble man who does not take credit for the students’ successes. He has a wealth of knowledge and skill in the field of PAA that he is willing to share with other teachers and students.”

Membership Awards

Members of STAT can nominate fellow members to receive Recognition Awards. Nominees must be in attendance at Convention to receive awards.
Nomination Form


value: $500
Eligibility: Open to members of STAT to assist with Professional Development opportunities.
To Apply: Complete the application form and submit to the STAT executive for consideration.‚Äč
Application Form

Our 2017 raffle winner Dustin Maki from CreateCafe